Lynam named Coach of the Year

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
MTT News's picture
Rob Reischel
Middleton’s Dan Lynam (center) was named Coach of the Year by the Wisconsin Swimming/Diving Coaches Association./Times-Tribune photo by Mary Langenfeld

Middleton’s Dan Lynam has been selected by the Wisconsin Swimming/Diving Coaches Association as the 2019-20 National Federation High School Coaches Association Boys Swimming Coach of the Year Award for Wisconsin.

Lynam led the Cardinals to the WIAA Division 1 state championship in February, the first state title in school history. Middleton finished with 228 points and edged runner-up Waukesha South/Catholic Memorial (222) for the state title.

“I am humbled to receive this honor in a state that is packed with so many talented and dedicated coaches,” Lynam said. “I have learned so much over the years from working with a number of them, it really is amazing how small the swim world is.

“I also have to acknowledge that much of our success over the years has been due to the hard work of my assistant coaches — Mike VerVoort and RJ Leiferman, and our dive coach Cyndie Zocher. I have relied heavily on them and their knowledge to ensure we were giving the team every chance to succeed we could. Also the support of the parents has been overwhelming, the time they have devoted to help the team has been inspiring.”

The NFHS identifies and recognizes a coach from each state for significant achievement in their sport each year. State level recipients are considered for NFHS Sectional recognition.

National Coaches of the Year are then chosen from the sectional winners.

Award recipients are selected based upon a variety of criteria including their coaching record, background, coaching honors, and involvement in community and school organizations.

Each year approximately 1,000 coaches are recognized at the state level, 168 coaches are recognized at the sectional level and 21 coaches are recognized at the national level.

Wisconsin coaches are members of Section 4, which represents the states of

Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, and Wisconsin.

In addition to acknowledging all of his current assistant coaches, Lynam thanked former Middleton athletic director Bob Joers, who passed away in May from pancreatic cancer.

Beginning in 1988, Joers took over as Middleton’s boys and girls swimming coaches and held each post for more than a decade.

Joers led Middleton to a runner-up finish at the WIAA Division 1 boys state swimming championship in 2000. The Cardinals also finished third at state for three consecutive years from 2002-04. Joers was honored as the Wisconsin Interscholastic Swim Coaches Association state boys coach of the year three times over a four-year period.

Joers founded the Mad-Town Aquatic swim team in 1990 and served as a coach until 2005.

The Middleton-Cross Plains Area School District also named its indoor pool after Joers earlier this year.

“I want to acknowledge the late Bob Joers and the entire Joers family,” Lynam said. “The passion for swimming that Bob showed is evident in everything about the MHS swim and dive programs.

“He was always our most vocal supporter and advocate, and made a point to create a bond with me, my coaching staff, and my team. As a first-time head coach, Bob worked to mentor and coach me throughout the years, and helped to form many of my coaching philosophies. I feel very privileged to have a coaching position in a community like MHS.”


Rate this article: 
Average: 5 (2 votes)