Dunn, Tanin named all-conference

Error message

  • Notice: Undefined index: taxonomy_term in similarterms_taxonomy_node_get_terms() (line 518 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in similarterms_list() (line 221 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
  • Notice: Undefined offset: 1 in similarterms_list() (line 222 of /home/middleton/www/www/sites/all/modules/similarterms/similarterms.module).
MTT News's picture
Rob Reischel
Sitori Tannin received honorable-mention all-conference honors./Times-Tribune photo by Mary Langenfeld

Middleton’s girls basketball team had a pair of players earn all-Big Eight Conference honors.

Senior guard Haley Dunn received third-team all-conference honors. Sophomore forward Sitori Tanin was named honorable-mention all-Big Eight.

Dunn was third on the team in scoring (6.2) and fourth in rebounding (4.1). Dunn led the Cardinals in assists (1.8), was second in steals (1.9) and shot 74.4% from the free throw line.

“Haley was probably our most consistent defender and just played steady and dependable on offense,” Middleton coach Jeff Kind said. “She hit some big shots for us throughout the year and was always ready to compete.”

Tanin led the Cardinals in scoring at 9.0 points per game and tied for the team rebounding lead (5.3). Tanin also led Middleton in blocks (1.2) and steals (2.5).

“Sitori may have been our most improved player,” Kind said. “She was just starting to come into her own at the end of the season, starting to realize that she could be a dominant force. We’re looking forward to seeing her improvement over the summer.”

Madison East senior Erin Howard was named the league’s Player of the Year. Howard was joined on the first team by East senior guard Justice Filip, Janesville Parker junior forward Julia Hartwig, Sun Prairie senior guard Jayda Jansen and Madison Memorial sophomore forward Leilani Kapinus.

Madison La Follette’s Will Green was named the league’s Coach of the Year.


Rate this article: 
No votes yet